THE GREATEST OLDIES OF ALL TIME

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Intermittent Gardener

I�ve been working at my second, month-long groundskeeper job for almost two weeks now. Tomorrow I shall mow the lawns. They have the cutest little mower; it is non-motorized, it has a clever little attachment to catch the clippings, it is lightweight and durable, and it is a dream to push around. The neighbour popped over the other day, while I was standing around, munching on a strawberry. I get kind of shy around people who appear suddenly, but I just pretended I was my dad, and shook his hand and talked in a hearty voice. I found myself nattering on about my advisor�s trip to the Grand Canyon, and how long she�d be gone, and how I have to stop by every other day, and then the thought occurred to me that this might just be some burglar who was impersonating the neighbour in order to case the joint. But then he started telling me about the painters he had working for him that were employed by my advisor�s husband, so just in time I stopped myself from dropping him to the ground and trussing him up with the hose. I was mildly insulted when he asked me what I had in my hand (lettuce to chew on during the walk home) as I was locking up to leave.

I�ve pretty well given up on Vance and Viola; so so incredibly boring they are. They were both working upstairs on my floor the other day, and even so, I couldn�t muster up the enthusiasm to lurk around and listen while he chatted her up at her desk; I�m sure it was work related [insert snorting noise of disgust]. I�m going to regard them as being in some sort of stasis. There is no one else at work to fix up, at the moment, because six of the other supervisors are already in relationships with each other (my supervisor is actually married to the one from the next row over, and another pair just moved in together). I was tempted to set NotSoSecret up with one of the office managers, June, the day they both came to work wearing red shirts. She likes to visit him in his office, and sit with her knees splayed wide apart, while fanning her genitals with her dayplanner, �stoking the fire�? as it were. But he was completely terrified by that idea, when I suggested it to him, so I�m going to save that, to torture him. A cute gay guy who left last year just came back yesterday, so maybe I can set him up with this guy on my team, Don, who has a crush on everybody, including yet another guy on our team, Wrigley, who I believe to be a lone wolf anyway, so the house takes all on that one. I think Wrigley is in the witness protection program, because he is one secretive dude, who lists his address as a PO box. Maybe he�s afraid of love.

1:07 p.m. - 2006-07-07
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

NOW PLAYING

.......&&&&&&&&&&&& andsometimeswhy75

&&&&&&&&...........

latest

about

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random

other diaries:

xorbit
mizrobinson
ramble-on
f-i-n
heidiann
zuzus-petals
metanephros
bornearly
porchlife
gumphood
hissandtell
sparkspark
willowfox
theturtle