THE GREATEST OLDIES OF ALL TIME

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

how does sound taste?

From my Grandma I inherited the tendency to lean forward and squint whenever things weren�t audible. �What? Let me put my glasses on, I can�t hear you,� was a common refrain at our house during family visits.

I often have a difficult time concentrating on the meanings of the words that people speak, because the textures of their voices are too distracting. For example, listening to Jennifer Warnes sing is like savouring melty caramel; Sarah McLachlan�s voice is the audio equivalent of fresh strawberries; I attended high school with a girl who sang in a brittle red soprano, like cherry Livesavers (she was Sandy in our production of Grease); Elvis Costello, as I�ve mentioned before, has a voice like dry steam, and the guitar (not technically a voice, but it speaks the language just as fluently) in his song �Alison� traces orange-pink curlicues in the air.

Imagine that you have irrevocably affronted the universe, and as a penalty you must endure the loss of either your sense of sight, or your sense of hearing�which would it be? For practical purposes, I believe that I would elect to retain my sense of sight; however, I fear that losing the ability to hear would impair me far more profoundly; I might pine away from lack of delight.

10:43 p.m. - 2006-08-20
5 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

NOW PLAYING

.......&&&&&&&&&&&& andsometimeswhy75

&&&&&&&&...........

latest

about

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random

other diaries:

xorbit
mizrobinson
ramble-on
f-i-n
heidiann
zuzus-petals
metanephros
bornearly
porchlife
gumphood
hissandtell
sparkspark
willowfox
theturtle