THE GREATEST OLDIES OF ALL TIME

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hm hm hm hmm

Sometimes Diaryland makes me all shy, you know?

So I was reading a TWoP recap of Freaks and Geeks to keep up my morale, and read approximately the following: Bill (pretending on Halloween to be the Bionic Woman addressing the Six Million Dollar Man): "I'm sorry, I can't marry you, I'm mad at you right now!" and then somehow being busted by his mom when playing this little pretend game over the phone. I miss that show so bad.

The reason I mention it is because it reminded me of the time that my roommates and I got digital cable, in the days before they would display the song information on the music stations. So, Chuck Mangione's Feel So Good came on, and I knew I knew the song from CBC radio, in the 11am-12pm time slot many many times, but had no idea what it was called. I hummed it for everyone, including my boss, who knew it but also couldn't identify it. I hummed it for a few days to keep it fresh. I hummed it til, at last, it faded away.

.Then, whilst at home on holiday, I woke up in the morning with it in my head! I immediately called the family voice mail and recorded myself humming it, in case I needed to reference it later. I hummed it proudly all day (although my friend Treehugger accused me of humming "Little Spanish Flea", but anyway). A couple of weeks later, while back at school, during a phone conversation with my Dad, he asked, "Kidder, is it OK if I delete a phone message of you humming a song of some sort?" I can just imagine him having to endure the drone of the recorded female voice informing him that he has to deal with this old stale message before listening to any new ones, and then it turning out to be "HMMMMMM, HMMMM, HMMMMMMM, HM HM HM HMMM, HM HM HM HMM, HM HM HM HMM HM HM HMM HMMM... for three or so endless minutes". Ha ha!

2:10 a.m. - 2006-10-06
8 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

NOW PLAYING

.......&&&&&&&&&&&& andsometimeswhy75

&&&&&&&&...........

latest

about

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random

other diaries:

xorbit
mizrobinson
ramble-on
f-i-n
heidiann
zuzus-petals
metanephros
bornearly
porchlife
gumphood
hissandtell
sparkspark
willowfox
theturtle