THE GREATEST OLDIES OF ALL TIME

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

let me assure you that we are not 'selling' anything

I just misrepresented myself on the phone; I lied about what I do for a living, in order to qualify for the survey opportunity I was offered by a rival research company. They were calling at the behest of Shaw Cable, the company that employs people to sneak into apartment buildings and harass innocent citizens into subscribing to their �money-saving� packages that �bundle� phone, TV and internet services. I took great joy in telling them that I get my television signal via rabbit-ear technology, and that I don�t have, nor the desire to acquire (in the next 12 months) a cellular phone. When I used to have TV, all I would do is sit on my ass, mesmerized by M*A*S*H marathons, or trolling around for Three�s Company reruns, so now I make do with the one channel that trickles down into my apartment (it airs the Colbert Report after midnight, plus several hilarious infomercials, which is more than enough televised input for me while I�m still in school; I�m far too compulsive to be trusted with TV right now). And I don�t have time before I have to go to work to complain about cell phones as thoroughly as is necessary, but I do suspect that they are contributing to the erosion of our �society�.

Well, that was all very dour and self-righteous! On a cheerier note, I just used up my cordless phone battery talking to my friend Laurie in the Maritimes (I had to do the survey on my cordful phone, which I've dropped on the floor so many times that one has to press the talk button continuously in order to sustain a connection), during which time she gave me permission to pimp her website (www.shiny-objects.com); she is an artist/metalsmith who I met in high-school. She once sent me a ring in the mail for my birthday, in a Clorets box. If anyone were ever to propose marriage to me I hope that they would follow that example.

PS is it alright if I call my page 'The Greatest Oldies of All Time' from now on?

3:18 p.m. - 2006-05-25
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

NOW PLAYING

.......&&&&&&&&&&&& andsometimeswhy75

&&&&&&&&...........

latest

about

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random

other diaries:

xorbit
mizrobinson
ramble-on
f-i-n
heidiann
zuzus-petals
metanephros
bornearly
porchlife
gumphood
hissandtell
sparkspark
willowfox
theturtle