THE GREATEST OLDIES OF ALL TIME

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ode to radio

My local AM oldies station has had it's afternoon programming pre-empted by coverage of our city baseball team, which does not interest me in the slightest. My second choice, an FM, 80s, 90s and Whatever-style music station, produces too much static, because it lies uncomfortable between it's 2 bandwidth neighbours, a jazz station and a university station. Plus, I live in a basement apartment. So I've plumbed my CD collection and put on My Aim is True (Elvis Costello). His voice makes me think of dry steam (if one can possibly imagine that). The angels have stolen his red shoes.

I actually prefer the experience of radio (although when I signed onto KaZaa I became immediately and hopelessly addicted, furiously editing playlists and monitoring downloads...sickening...until one night, while somewhat inebriated, I tried to 'manually' locate and delete the viruses and spyware that were bogging my operating system down. I managed to remove a crucial startup component and had to reinstall the whole thing, effectively purging all my diligently stolen music. And all the journal articles I had downloaded for school. Ha ha!)

So, anyway, radio, yeah, better. You just sit back and let the DJ or the autoformat make all the song-playing decisions for you. I like it when you hear a song out of the blue that you hadn't thought of in years, but used to like even though everyone else you knew thought it sucked (I'll cite Rick Astley-Never Gonna Give You Up as an example), and which hardly ever gets played anymore. You can't surprise yourself like that when you cue up your own stuff, or feel the smack of delayed gratification when the song they teased you with at the top of the hour at last gets played. There's also the splash of local colour that a good DJ can provide (or even advertising!), but which is absent from the iPod experience. Finally, I even like our Canadian content laws; you never hear fun bands like Doug and the Slugs or the Odds on American radio, or songs by Corey Hart other than Sunglasses at Night.

PS it's free!!!(which is why it gets pre-empted by baseball)

12:56 p.m. - 2006-05-16
6 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

NOW PLAYING

.......&&&&&&&&&&&& andsometimeswhy75

&&&&&&&&...........

latest

about

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random

other diaries:

xorbit
mizrobinson
ramble-on
f-i-n
heidiann
zuzus-petals
metanephros
bornearly
porchlife
gumphood
hissandtell
sparkspark
willowfox
theturtle