THE GREATEST OLDIES OF ALL TIME

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

his and his own way to rock

Burton Cummings and Randy Bachman rolled through town recently on their reunion tour, which NotSoSecretBoyfriend and I took in with great enjoyment. They performed songs from when they were the Guess Who, some solo Burton stuff (but not Stand Tall, sorry) and some of Randy�s Bachman-Turner Overdrive work, including Taking Care of Business as the 2nd and final encore.
My favourite part was when Burton told the audience �This is a song that Randy wrote while he wasn�t very fond of me�, and then proceeded to ham it up doing backup for Randy�s performance of �Hey You� (a song which is basically one big burn on Burton, very very funny).
Also highly amusing was the EXTREMELY drunk woman behind us, who kept randomly braying �yeah� at moments when the audience was relatively silent. I think she might have used to smooch Burton in her youth, or wanted to. Someone I know once ran into Burton at a bar, and bellowed �American woman!� in his face, at which point he frenched her.
In other news, I have a 2nd job for a month, tending my thesis advisor�s garden. A couple of perks include free strawberries, raspberries and lettuce. Plus they have a treehouse in which I�m allowed to hang out. Vance and Viola are being so completely boring that I can�t even bring myself to say another word about it right now. I�m off to transfer my laundry to the dryer. Cheers, everyone!

1:20 p.m. - 2006-06-29
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

NOW PLAYING

.......&&&&&&&&&&&& andsometimeswhy75

&&&&&&&&...........

latest

about

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random

other diaries:

xorbit
mizrobinson
ramble-on
f-i-n
heidiann
zuzus-petals
metanephros
bornearly
porchlife
gumphood
hissandtell
sparkspark
willowfox
theturtle