THE GREATEST OLDIES OF ALL TIME

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

gitch or gotch?

Last night I babysat for my friend of mine, and after she got home and kidlet was put to bed, we had a little doobie-doobie-doo and talked about the problem of camel-toe. This is the time of year when it is of greatest concern, when summer shorts fit VERY snugly over our layers of as yet unshed winter insulation. I personally find camel-toe to be one of the stupidest things to have to worry about, but even so I'm pretty surprised at how long it has taken the cosmetic industry to start marketing products to help eliminate camel-toe. I envision it as similar to a pantiliner, except stiff enough to keep things 'streamlined'. How uncomfortable would that be, though? And what if you don't wear gitch?

Now on that note, I'd like to talk briefly about geographical linguistic variation. I had a prof once who told us, with great enthusiasm, about how the colloquial term 'gitch' (referring to underpants) varied across the western provinces, from gitch to gotch to gonch. I believe where I grew up (Alberta) we called it 'gotch', but I had roommates from Saskatoon who called it 'gitch', and by now so do I. Can anyone corroborate this? Or does anybody 'down south' (har har) have other examples? Or opinions about camel-toe they'd care to share? And guys, don't be shy about commenting; camel-toe is an issue that affects us ALL.

2:38 p.m. - 2006-05-18
6 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

NOW PLAYING

.......&&&&&&&&&&&& andsometimeswhy75

&&&&&&&&...........

latest

about

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random

other diaries:

xorbit
mizrobinson
ramble-on
f-i-n
heidiann
zuzus-petals
metanephros
bornearly
porchlife
gumphood
hissandtell
sparkspark
willowfox
theturtle